Poem: Desert Sands and Night Dance

There is an exercise that is useful for generating writing that I sometimes use in my art practice. You listen to a song, or look at a piece of art and write what comes to you, inspired by the art. I used to be a belly dancer and Arabic, Egyptian and Turkish themes have long captured my interests. I think maybe I have a specific interest in things that are exotic to me. So today, I’ve decided to share a couple of poems that I wrote using this exercise.

But before I get to the poems I wanted to update you on The Kingston Chronicles. The Kingston Chronicles now has new pricing on Amazon for both paperback and Kindle. I was horrified to discover that the price for Australian readers had some how jumped to almost $40. I guess this is due to changes in the conversion from American to Australian dollars. I’m not sure and I’m still waiting on a response from Amazon. Unlike the Kindle edition, I can’t individually change the price for certain territories, so I’ve dropped the American price so it translates to something reasonable. I’ve also made The Kingston Chronicles available now on Amazon Unlimited.

So, now for the poems. This poem was inspired by a song I came across early into my dance career; Arabika by Didulya.

Desert Sands

By B. Forrester

Desert sands from ancient times,
dance and swirl and high they climb,
trapped in desert winds sublime,
fabric dancing in a line.

Sunshine hot and dry on skin,
standing in the heartland of the djinn,
hum a sacred desert hymn,
sandstorms cover where I have been.

Sinking slowly into sand,
survery the stretching, grainy land,
running through the dunes so grand,
for centuries untouched by human hands.

Stumble and fall down to the ground,
no one around to hear the sound,
heaven sent and heaven bound,
now only dried bones can be found.

This second poem I wrote was inspired by Desert Rose by Sting.

Night Dance

By. B. Forrester

Spinning, hidden weaving,
blood red roses dance,
summer day’s heat leaving,
make way for night’s romance.

Heady aromas pleasing,
sensations cause a trance,
playful touches teasing,
at night all is enhanced.

Published by bforresterbooks

Indie Author. Lover of all things supernatural, witchy and magical. Obsessed fan of The Wizard of Oz, Supernatural, the works of Tolkien and the Harry Potter Universe. You can purchase my debut novel The Kingston Chronicles at Amazon.

Leave a comment